Rabbit Cake

DSC_2033

“Boomer died of old age, but I’d figured out by now that death never makes sense, no matter how someone dies: murder, accident, old age, cancer, suicide, you’re never ready to lose someone you love. I decided death will always feel unexplained; we will never be ready for it, and you just have to do the best you can with what you have left.”

After all the high praise I’ve heard about this book, I decided to give it a try. While this type of book isn’t my first choice, sometimes I need a heartwarming and quick read. I expected this one to fill that need but, unfortunately, it didn’t.

If I were a book quitter, I would have quit reading.

I know this may be an unpopular opinion, but I just can’t anymore with these types of books. Not only are the storylines super boring and predictable – but they’re also ridiculously lame.

Is a dad really going to let his troublemaking daughter drop out of school to bake 1,000 rabbit cakes in order to be featured in the Guiness Book of World Records?

Obviously, I’m missing the point and getting hung up on the wrong things, but please JUST STOP WITH IT ALREADY, authors!

If my ten-year-old daughter is capable of writing a more compelling book than a grown adult, we have a problem.

Fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine (you can read my review here) will probably adore this book (though I think both of these are better than Rabbit Cake).

I’m making my first New Year’s Resolution: I WILL STOP READING THESE KINDS OF BOOKS IN 2018! Sadly, they just don’t work for me.

2 thoughts on “Rabbit Cake

Leave a Reply to Catherine Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s