Read Alikes (Vol. 1): Evvie Drake Starts Over

Screen Shot 2020-03-22 at 2.00.29 PM


The Flatshare
by: Beth O’Leary

Screen Shot 2019-06-02 at 11.44.40 AMWhen I read the synopsis for this book, I felt like it was going to be way too cheesy for me. Basically, Tiffy goes through a bad break up with her boyfriend and needs a place to live immediately. She answers an ad in the paper that calls for a roommate to “share” the apartment – Leon will have the apartment during the day while Tiffy will have it every night. Tiffy and Leon begin writing each other notes, eventually becoming friends…and more!

I loved the characters in this book so much, and they made me fall in love with the story – cheesiness and all! But, having said that, there was depth to the story, and I was totally taken by surprise by that! If you’re looking for something light and easy, but absolutely entertaining, this book is for you!

Waiting for Tom Hanks by: Kerry Winfrey

Screen Shot 2020-03-22 at 1.46.54 PMWAITING FOR TOM HANKS is sweet and adorable and perfect in every way. I loved the references to 90s/2000s RomComs (Sleepless in Seattle, You’ve Got Mail, and When Harry Met Sally). I also loved how Annie’s love for RomCom’s comes from her relationship with her mother, who has since passed away. She continues to watch them as a way to feel closer to her mama…that’s something I can totally relate to!

This is the perfect book for when you’re needed something lighter to dive into (like now!).

Red, White, & Royal Blue by: Casey McQuiston

Screen Shot 2020-03-22 at 1.48.42 PMThis one caught me completely by surprise! I loved everything about this book – it had the perfect balance between light-hearted romance, the exploration of deeper issues, and a well-developed plot and characters. Besides, who isn’t intrigued with the idea of a romance between America’s First Family and the British Royal Family?

The Unhoneymooners by: Christina Lauren

Screen Shot 2020-03-22 at 1.47.14 PMOlive and Ethan surmount innumerable hurdles to finally find themselves happily in love with each other. There were funny moments and hilarious one-liners throughout that kept me rolling through the pages. Overall, I appreciated Olive’s growth throughout the novel and her advocacy for being a curvy girl with no shame. We need more of this from authors! I liked the evolution of Olive and Ethan’s relationship, and I loved Olive’s supportive family and her relationship with her twin sister.

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by: Gail Honeyman

Screen Shot 2020-03-22 at 1.46.29 PMThis wasn’t my favorite book out of the bunch but so many others have loved it that it’s worth mentioning.

Eleanor is a charming, witty, and endearing woman, but struggles in social situations. Therefore, she is somewhat of a recluse, sticking to a strict schedule. But when she meets Raymond, the sweetest friend one could hope for, everything changes.

I appreciated the wit and humor of Eleanor, I just wish the whole book would have had the depth that the last ⅓ had. Again, I seem to be in the minority with this opinion and think it makes a perfect addition to this roundup.

5 thoughts on “Read Alikes (Vol. 1): Evvie Drake Starts Over

  1. I’ve had Red, White, and Royal Blue on my TBR for far too long. It might be the perfect time to finally give it a read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s